Maui Jim Maui Invitational

Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

2019 Maui Jim Maui Invitational field announced

Leave a comment

Tuesday afternoon the eight-team field for the 2019 Maui Jim Maui Invitational was announced, with host Chaminade being joined by BYU, Dayton, Georgia, Kansas, Michigan State, UCLA and Virginia Tech. Games for the Championship Round will be played November 25-27, 2019 at the Lahaina Civic Center.

Four of the eight teams have won at least one Maui Jim Maui Invitational, with Kansas having won titles in 1996 and 2015. The other three schools to have won the event are Dayton (2003), Michigan State (1991) and UCLA (2006). Not counting Chaminade, five of the seven programs making the trip to Maui have participated in the event at least four times.

The exceptions are Georgia, which will play in the Maui Jim Maui Invitational for the first time, and Virginia Tech. Virginia Tech will be making its second appearance in 2019, with the first coming in 1985.

Kansas, Michigan State, UCLA and Virginia Tech all reached the NCAA tournament this season, with Kansas reaching the Final Four for the first time in a decade.

Maui Invitational’s 2018 field announced

Leave a comment

The 2018 field of the Maui Invitational was announced Wednesday, and it features some of the top programs in the sport.

Arizona, Duke, Iowa State, Gonzaga, Illinois, Auburn, Xavier and San Diego State will make up the eight-team field for the tournament that will be played Nov. 19-21, 2018, at the Lahaina Civic Center.

Our fields always showcase the best in college basketball,” tournament chairman Dave Odom said in a release, “and 2018 will be as strong as we’ve ever had.”

The 2018 edition of the tournament will also be the first that has eight Division I teams as host Chaminade will compete in the open round during even years going forward and in odd years beginning in 2019 in the championship round.

This year’s Maui Invitational features UConn, Georgetown, North Carolina, Oklahoma State, Oregon, Tennessee and Wisconsin. It tips off Nov. 21, and goes through Nov. 23.

Kansas forward Diallo granted waiver to travel to Maui

Associated Press
1 Comment

With No. 4 Kansas headed to Maui to participate in the Maui Jim Maui Invitational, the status of impact freshman forward Cheick Diallo remains up in the air.

Diallo has yet to be cleared for competition by the NCAA, so while he can help the Jayhawks in practices he’s yet to take the floor in game action for head coach Bill Self. Friday morning the school announced that Diallo has been granted a waiver to travel with the team to Maui.

The question: what does this mean with regards to the possibility of Diallo being cleared at some point in the near future? That is anyone’s guess at this point. While it can be viewed as a positive that Diallo is being allowed to travel, when it comes to such investigations so little information is made public that it’s tough to tell.

And while it isn’t a perfect comparison since Marquette was on its summer trip to Italy, the NCAA allowed Haanif Cheatham to travel despite being in eligibility limbo. Cheatham would eventually be cleared but it was too late for him to play in any of Marquette’s exhibitions in Italy, with the good news breaking while the Golden Eagles were playing their final exhibition of the trip.

Diallo’s a high-energy power forward who would have a significant impact once on the floor. But even with Friday’s piece of good news, we still have no indication of how much longer he’ll have to sit out.

Maui Jim Maui Invitational will have another good field in 2017

Associated Press
Leave a comment

LAHAINA, Hawaii (AP) Five teams ranked in the Top 25 – California, LSU, Michigan, Notre Dame and Wichita State – will play in the 2017 Maui Jim Maui Invitational.

The field for the 34th edition of the Maui Invitational, which was announced Thursday, also includes Marquette, VCU and Chaminade, the Division II host school from Honolulu.

The tournament will be played Nov. 20-22, 2017, at the Lahaina Civic Center.

Michigan, which won the Maui Invitational in 1985 and 1988, is the only team in the field to have won the Wayne Duke Championship Trophy.