Emerald Coast Classic

Report: Emerald Coast Classic announces 2015 slate

Leave a comment

The second installment of the Emerald Coast Classic will be played in 2015 and the four main teams for the event have been named in a report from CBS Sports‘ Jon Rothstein.

The two-day finale in Destin, Florida will feature Iowa State taking on Virginia Tech and Illinois battling UAB on Friday, Nov. 27, 2015. The winners and losers will battle on the following day, Saturday, Nov. 28.

The Emerald Coast Classic will take place on Nov. 28 this year with Cincinnati facing Middle Tennessee State and Creighton battling Ole Miss. Winners and losers play again on Nov. 29.

Overall, this is a pretty solid field for an event that is relatively new. The 2015 field could have two top-25 teams in Illinois and Iowa State, if both programs return the expected talent and fare as well as they can this season. Virginia Tech will also be in another year under Buzz Williams and UAB has shown flashes over the last few years.

Cincinnati, Creighton among eight teams in inaugural Emerald Coast Classic

Leave a comment

There will be another in-season tournament in 2014, with the Emerald Coast Classic taking place this November. On Thursday Global Sports, the group running the event, announced the eight-team field with 2014 NCAA tournament participants Cincinnati and Creighton being the headliners.

“We are extremely excited about being in the Emerald Coast Classic this November,” Cincinnati head coach Mick Cronin said in the release. “We have been in a number of multi-team events with Global Sports in the past and I am sure that Maury and his staff will put together a tremendous event.”

Also in the four-team group that will meet in the semifinals on November 28 at Northwest Florida State College are Ole Miss and Middle Tennessee. In one semifinal Cincinnati, which won a share of the American Athletic Conference regular season title, will take on Middle Tennessee with Creighton and Ole Miss matching up in the other semifinal.

The tournament concludes November 29, with the semifinal winners meeting for the title and the other two semifinalists meeting in the third place game. Also participating in the event are Eastern Illinois, North Carolina Central (which represented the MEAC in the NCAA tournament), Northern Arizona and Southern.