Bob Cousy Award

Freshmen Tyus Jones, Melo Trimble among finalists for Bob Cousy Award


Friday morning the finalists for the Bob Cousy Award, annually given to the nation’s best point guard by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, were announced. Among the players on the list are two of the nation’s best freshmen, Duke’s Tyus Jones and Maryland’s Melo Trimble.

They’re the only two first-year players on the list, which includes six seniors, five juniors and four sophomores.

From a conference standpoint the Pac-12 leads the way with four finalists, with Arizona’s T.J. McConnell, Cal’s Tyrone Wallace, Utah’s Delon Wright and Washington’s Nigel Williams-Goss being the players on the list. In total nine conferences are represented. Also making the cut is BYU junior Kyle Collinsworth, who has tallied an NCAA-record five triple-doubles this season.

Below is the list of finalists for the award, which was won by UConn’s Shabazz Napier last season.

2015 Bob Cousy Award Finalists

T.J. McConnell, Arizona (senior)
Kyle Collinsworth, BYU (junior)
Tyrone Wallace, California (junior)
Ryan Boatright, UConn (senior)
Tyus Jones, Duke (freshman)
Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga (senior)
Keifer Sykes, Green Bay (senior)
Yogi Ferrell, Indiana (junior)
Monte Morris, Iowa State (sophomore)
Terry Rozier, Louisville (sophomore)
Melo Trimble, Maryland (freshman)
Marcus Paige, North Carolina (junior)
Kris Dunn, Providence (junior)
Delon Wright, Utah (senior)
Nigel Williams-Goss, Washington (sophomore)
Juwan Staten, West Virginia (senior)
Fred Van Vleet, Wichita State (junior)

Preseason watch list named for Bob Cousy Award


Tuesday came the announcement of 36 point guards on the 2014-15 watch list for the Cousy Award. This list features many experienced guards and some incoming freshmen like Tyler Ulis of Kentucky and Romelo Trimble of Maryland.

Last year’s award went to Shabazz Napier of UConn, who was a deserving winner, given how the Huskies ended their season.

A committee will narrow cut the watch list to 20 players in February and five finalists in March before a Cousy Award winner is named the day of the 2015 national championship game.

Here’s the current watch list of 36 players?

2015 Cousy Award Watch List

Olivier Hanlan, Boston College

Quinn Cook, Duke University

Tyus Jones, Duke University

D’Vauntes Smith-Rivera, Georgetown University

Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga University

Siyani Chambers, Harvard University

Yogi Ferrell, Indiana University

Monte Morris, Iowa State University

Kenneth Smith, Louisiana Tech University

Cameron Payne, Murray State University

Chasson Randle, Stanford University

Will Cummings, Temple University

Alex Caruso, Texas A&M University

T.J. McConnell, University of Arizona

Ryan Boatright, University of Connecticut

Kasey Hill, University of Florida

Andrew Harrison, University of Kentucky

Tyler Ulis, University Kentucky

Terry Rozier, University of Louisville

Romelo Trimble, University of Maryland

Angel Rodriguez, University of Miami

Derrick Walton Jr., University of Michigan

Jarvis Summers, University of Mississippi

Marcus Paige, University of North Carolina

Pierria Henry, University of North Carolina (Charlotte)

Jordan Woodward, University of Oklahoma

E.C. Matthews, University of Rhode Island

Isaiah Taylor, University of Texas

Julius Brown, University of Toledo

Delon Wright, University of Utah

London Perrantes, University of Virginia

Keifer Sykes, University of Wisconsin-Green Bay

Ryan Arcidiacono, Villanova University

Briante Weber, Virginia Commonwealth University

Juwan Staten, West Virginia University

Fred Van Vleet , Wichita State University

Who do you think has the best chance of winning the Cousy Award this season? Any players that should be on this list that weren’t included?

UConn point guard Shabazz Napier wins 2014 Bob Cousy Award

Leave a comment

One day after leading his Huskies to the second National Title game appearance of his four-year career, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced that UConn senior point guard Shabazz Napier was the 2014 recipient of the Bob Cousy Award, given to college basketball’s best floor general.

“The Basketball Hall of Fame is proud to honor Shabazz Napier as the top college point guard of 2014,” John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame, said in a statement on Sunday. “Shabazz has proven himself a winner and has excelled tremendously this year with the Connecticut Huskies. He has demonstrated himself as a leader on the court and a deserving winner of this award.”

Napier was named to the Associated Press All-American first team while also earning player of the year honors in the newly-formed American Athletic Conference. He averaged 17.9 points, 5.8 rebounds and 4.9 assists per game, leading the Huskies in all three categories.

“We are proud and honored that Shabazz has been named to receive the Bob Cousy Award and we obviously think it is well-deserved,” UConn head coach Kevin Ollie said. “Shabazz has led our team in numerous statistical categories all season and has been a most valuable part of our success. But just as important, he has been an outstanding senior leader, setting an example for our players off the court. We are extremely happy for him.”

Napier won the award over the five other finalists — UCLA’s Kyle Anderson, Ohio State’s Aaron Craft, Syracuse’s Tyler Ennis, North Carolina’s Marcus Paige and Wichita State’s Fred VanVleet. In 2011, UConn point guard Kemba Walker won the award.