Virginia declines invitation to attend White House after title

Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

Virginia put out a press release at 5:35 p.m. on the Friday evening of the NFL Draft announcing that they will “respectfully decline” to accept an invite to visit the White House after winning the 2019 national title.

“We have received inquiries about a visit to the White House,” read a statement from head coach Tony Bennett. “With several players either pursuing pro opportunities or moving on from UVA, it would be difficult, if not impossible to get everyone back together. We would have to respectfully decline an invitation.”

Four players from that Virginia team — De’Andre Hunter, Ty Jerome, Kyle Guy and Mamadi Diakite — have declared for the NBA draft since the season ended, and all but Diakite have released statements saying that they are going to remain in the draft.

Last year’s Villanova team did not attend the White House after winning the 2018 national title, but Jay Wright said that his team was not invited. The 2017 North Carolina team that won the title did not visit the White House, but they were invited.

Baylor’s women’s team, who won the 2019 national title, accepted an invitation to visit the White House.