Bill Self, Rebecca Lobo among 2017 Basketball Hall of Fame class

(Photo by Jamie Squire/Getty Images)
1 Comment

Kansas head coach Bill Self and former UConn women’s basketball star Rebecca Lobo are among the 2017 Basketball Hall of Fame class that was officially announced on Saturday.

Others voted into the Basketball Hall of Fame in 2017 include former NBA all-star Tracy McGrady, Notre Dame women’s coach Muffet McGraw, Texas high school coach Robert Hughes, former Chicago Bulls executive Jerry Krause, NBA and ABA star George McGinnis, former NCAA vice president Tom Jernstedt, European star Nikos Galis and two members of the Harlem Globetrotters — Zack Clayton and Mannie Jackson.

Self has led the Jayhawks to 13 consecutive Big 12 regular season championships as well as a national championship in 2008 as he’s been one of the most successful head coaches in modern college basketball. A former head coach at Oral Roberts, Tulsa and Illinois, Self owns a career record of 623-192.

Lobo was one of the first superstars to emerge from the UConn women’s basketball program as she helped lead the Huskies to an undefeated season in 1995 while being named the unanimous National Player of the Year.

Head coach at Notre Dame since 1987, McGraw led the Fighting Irish to a national title in 2001 as well as seven Final Four appearances.

The 2017 Basketball Hall of Fame class will be officially inducted on September 8th.