Rollie Massimino, Chris Webber, Bill Self and Rebecca Lobo among first-time finalists for Basketball Hall of Fame

Getty Images

The Basketball Hall of Fame revealed its 14 finalists for this year’s induction class.

Former Villanova head coach Rollie Massimino, Michigan star and NBA all-star Chris Webber, Kansas head coach Bill Self and Connecticut star Rebecca Lobo are among the first-time finalists.

Other first timers on the ballot include Baylor women’s coach Kim Mulkey, NBA champion head coach and former Michigan star Rudy Tomjanovich, NBA all-star and Arkansas star Sidney Moncrief, NBA all-star Tracy McGrady and retired veteran NBA referee Hugh Evans.

Other former finalists who are also still up for induction include former Wisconsin coach Bo Ryan, Notre Dame women’s coach Muffet McGraw, former NBA all-star and UTEP star Tim Hardaway, high school coach Robert Hughes and 10-time AAU national champion Wayland Baptist University.

Massimino and Self have both won national championships as head coaches with Massimino’s upset of Georgetown in 1985 ranking among the greatest title-game upsets in modern sports. Self has helped the Jayhawks to 12 consecutive Big 12 regular season titles as he helped the program to a national title in 2008.

Webber is known for being the best player on Michigan’s famed “Fab Five” in the early ’90s before long and productive NBA career while Lobo was one of the key players at UConn who helped jumpstart head coach Geno Auriemma’s string of championship teams.