YOU MAKE THE CALL: Was this a foul on Kansas’ Devonte’ Graham?

AP Photo/Timothy D. Easley
14 Comments

With 34 seconds remaining in the South Regional Final between No. 1 Kansas and No. 2 Villanova, an important foul call was made against Kansas guard Devonte’ Graham. After losing the ball while dribbling through the Villanova trap, Graham dove for the loose ball at the same time that Villanova’s Josh Hart reached out for it.

In the play Graham and Hart touched the ball simultaneously, but Graham’s momentum took him into Hart. The official called Graham for a foul, his fifth, and the Jayhawks lost the player who to that point in the game had made all five of the team’s three-pointers for the game.

You make the call: should Graham have been called for a foul on that play? A travel? Or should the officials have let the play go?

Following the game official Terry Wymer provided the following explanation for the call:

“Kansas was the team in control of the ball. The ball came loose and Kansas maintained the ball. Number four for Kansas (Graham) undercut number three for Villanova (Hart). Therefore it was a team control foul and they were not shooting a one-and-one. They never lost the ball. We got together to review the sequences to make sure.”