(AP Photo/Gerry Broome)

It’s Friday before Selection Sunday. Let’s talk about something positive: the final sprint for No. 1 seeds.

Kansas should be the No. 1 overall seed.  The next three slots?  We still have questions with two days to go.  Unless the Selection Committee has already made its decisions – which is doubtful at this time on Friday – closing results in the ACC, Big 10, and Big East could very well decide how those positions unfold.  And if Oregon wins the Pac-12, it’s possible the Committee could reward the Ducks with a No. 1 seed in the West Region, especially if Oklahoma, Michigan State, North Carolina, Virginia, Villanova, and Xavier miss on conference championships.  However it ends up, those eight teams are the leading contenders for No. 1 and No. 2 seeds.  If Indiana wins the Big 10, the Hoosiers could also reach the two-line.

Today is the day we’ll know more from the Atlantic 10 and American groupings. As for the bubble, Thursday was a less-than-ideal day for Vanderbilt.  After losing to Tennessee, the Commodores must now grab a spot on the waiting list, hoping there’s a Dance ticket left on Sunday night.

If there’s a potential bid thief left – other than a team like Illinois or Nebraska (highly unlikely) – it could be San Diego State.  Should the Aztecs lose in the Mountain West championship, they’ll join the at-large discussion and see how their resume stacks up against the others.

Bracket Update: March 11, 2016

Now that we’ve reached Championship Week, teams in CAPS represent the AUTOMATIC bid. The other automatic bids are noted by the highest remaining seed in the conference tournament (as eligible). Exceptions are made for teams that use an abbreviation (ex: UCLA)

Several new bracketing principles were introduced a couple of years ago. You can read them for yourself at http://www.ncaa.com. For example: teams from the same conference may now meet before a Regional final, even if fewer than eight teams are selected. The goal is to keep as many teams as possible on their actual seed line.

FIRST FOUR PAIRINGS – Dayton (First Round)

  • Tulsa vs. Monmouth | Midwest Region
  • VCU vs. Connecticut East Region
  • HOLY CROSS vs. AUSTIN PEAY | Midwest Region


MIDWEST – Chicago  EAST – Philadelphia                            
Des Moines Raleigh
1) Kansas 1) Virginia
16) HOLY CROSS / AUSTIN PEAY 16) Hampton
8) Wisconsin 8) Texas Tech
9) USC 9) Oregon State
Oklahoma City Providence
5) Duke 5) Maryland
12) Ark-Little Rock 12) Akron
4) Purdue 4) Kentucky
13) IONA 13) Stony Brook
Brooklyn Des Moines
6) Iowa 6) Texas
11) Tulsa / Monmouth 11) UConn / VCU
3) Miami-FL 3) Indiana
14) Middle Tennessee 14) SOUTH DAKOTA ST
Spokane St. Louis
7) Dayton 7) Colorado
10) Cincinnati 10) Wichita State
2) Oregon 2) Xavier
15) Weber State 15) New Mexico State
SOUTH – Louisville       WEST – Anaheim
Brooklyn Oklahoma City
1) Villanova 1) Oklahoma
16) FDU / FLA GULF CST 16) Texas-Southern
8) South Carolina 8) Butler
9) Saint Joseph’s 9) Pittsburgh
Denver Denver
5) Iowa State 5) Arizona
4) California 4) Texas AM
Providence Spokane
6) Notre Dame 6) Baylor
11) Temple 11) San Diego State
3) West Virginia 3) Utah
14) S.F. Austin 14) Hawaii
St. Louis Raleigh
7) Providence 7) Seton Hall
10) GONZAGA 10) St. Bonaventure
2) Michigan State 2) North Carolina

NOTES on the BRACKET: Kansas is the No. 1 overall seed followed by Virginia, Oklahoma, Villanova. Next in line: Michigan State, North Carolina, Xavier, Oregon

Last Four Byes (at large): Pittsburgh, Cincinnati, St. Bonaventure, Wichita State

Last Four IN (at large): Monmouth, Connecticut, VCU, Tulsa

First Four OUT (at large): Saint Mary’s, Vanderbilt, Syracuse, Florida

Next four teams OUT (at large): Michigan, Valparaiso, George Washington, Houston

Breakdown by Conference …

Pac 12 (7): OREGON, Utah, California, Arizona, Colorado, USC, Oregon State

Big 12 (7): KANSAS, Oklahoma, West Virginia, Iowa State, Texas, Baylor, Texas Tech

ACC (6): NORTH CAROLINA, Virginia, Miami, Duke, Notre Dame, Pittsburgh

Big 10 (6): INDIANA, Michigan State, Purdue, Maryland, Iowa, Wisconsin

Big East (5): VILLANOVA, Xavier, Seton Hall, Providence, Butler

Atlantic 10 (4): DAYTON, Saint Joseph’s, St. Bonaventure, VCU

American (4): TEMPLE, Cincinnati, Connecticut, Tulsa

SEC (3): KENTUCKY, Texas AM, South Carolina

Missouri Valley (2): NORTHERN IOWA, Wichita State

MAAC (2): IONA, Monmouth

West Coast (1): GONZAGA

Mountain West (1): SAN DIEGO STATE

ONE BID LEAGUES: Iona (MAAC), Middle Tennessee (C-USA), Ark-Little Rock (SBELT), Yale (IVY), Weber State (BSKY), Green Bay (HORIZON), Stephen F. Austin (SLND), Chattanooga (STHN), Hawaii (BWEST), Akron (MAC), Florida Gulf Coast (ASUN), Austin Peay (OVC), UNC-Wilmington (CAA), UNC-Asheville (BSO), Hampton (MEAC), South Dakota State (SUM), New Mexico State (WAC), Stony Brook (AEAST), Holy Cross (PAT), Fairleigh-Dickinson (NEC), Texas-Southern (SWAC)