(Brad Horrigan/The Courant via AP)
1 Comment

The NCAA Men’s Basketball Selection Committee will be closely watching developments in the Atlantic 10 and American conference tournaments.  If you include Houston, there are 10 teams from those two leagues with a lot at stake between now and Saturday night.  When you factor in an additional group from the SEC, it’s going to be an important couple of days.

As for Syracuse, the Orange are simply hoping that it all works out; that the Committee gives them consideration for games played in Jim Boeheim’s absence, that their top-level wins outweigh a volume of losses, and that a 3-8 road record is a evaluated against an unbalanced ACC schedule.  They will also hope that losing five of six games down the stretch (with Boeheim on the sideline) isn’t that big a deal.  When put together, it’s another reason why what happens in the A-10, American and SEC could greatly impact where Syracuse ultimately ends up.

This morning, we have about 10 available at-large spots, a significant number this close to Selection Sunday.  The race for those positions is far from over.

UPDATED: March 10, 2016

Now that we’ve reached Championship Week, teams in CAPS represent the AUTOMATIC bid. The other automatic bids are noted by the highest remaining seed in the conference tournament (as eligible). Exceptions are made for teams that use an abbreviation (ex: UCLA)

Several new bracketing principles were introduced a couple of years ago. You can read them for yourself at http://www.ncaa.com. For example: teams from the same conference may now meet before a Regional final, even if fewer than eight teams are selected. The goal is to keep as many teams as possible on their actual seed line.

FIRST FOUR PAIRINGS – Dayton (First Round)

  • Wichita State vs. Monmouth | South Region
  • VCU vs. Connecticut South Region
  • HOLY CROSS vs. AUSTIN PEAY | Midwest Region


MIDWEST – Chicago  EAST – Philadelphia                                
Des Moines Raleigh
1) Kansas 1) Virginia
16) HOLY CROSS / AUSTIN PEAY 16) Hampton
8) Providence 8) Butler
9) Pittsburgh 9) South Carolina
Providence Denver
5) Texas AM 5) Maryland
12) CHATTANOOGA 12) Ark-Little Rock
4) Purdue 4) Iowa State
13) IONA 13) YALE
Brooklyn Des Moines
6) Baylor 6) California
11) Temple 11) GONZAGA
3) Miami-FL 3) Indiana
14) UAB 14) S.F. Austin
Spokane St. Louis
7) Dayton 7) Notre Dame
10) Cincinnati 10) Vanderbilt
2) Oregon 2) Xavier
15) Weber State 15) New Mexico State
SOUTH – Louisville       WEST – Anaheim
Brooklyn Oklahoma City
1) Villanova 1) Oklahoma
16) FDU / FLA GULF CST 16) Texas-Southern
8) USC 8) Oregon State
9) Texas Tech 9) Saint Joseph’s
Denver Oklahoma City
5) Texas 5) Iowa
12) NORTHERN IOWA 12) Akron
4) Duke 4) Kentucky
13) Stony Brook 13) UNC-WILMINGTON
Providence Spokane
6) Arizona 6) Wisconsin
11) UConn / VCU 11) San Diego State
3) West Virginia 3) Utah
14) SOUTH DAKOTA ST 14) Hawaii
St. Louis Raleigh
7) Colorado 7) Seton Hall
10) Wichita St / Monmouth 10) St. Bonaventure
2) Michigan State 2) North Carolina

NOTES on the BRACKET: Kansas is the No. 1 overall seed followed by Virginia, Oklahoma, Villanova. Next in line: Michigan State, North Carolina, Xavier, Oregon

Last Four Byes (at large): Saint Joseph’s, Vanderbilt, Cincinnati, St. Bonaventure

Last Four IN (at large): Wichita State, Monmouth, Connecticut, VCU

First Four OUT (at large): Syracuse, Tulsa, Saint Mary’s, Florida

Next four teams OUT (at large): Michigan, Valparaiso, George Washington, Houston

Breakdown by Conference …

Pac 12 (7): OREGON, Utah, California, Arizona, Colorado, Oregon State, USC

Big 12 (7): KANSAS, Oklahoma, West Virginia, Iowa State, Texas, Baylor, Texas Tech

ACC (6): NORTH CAROLINA, Virginia, Miami, Duke, Notre Dame, Pittsburgh

Big 10 (6): INDIANA, Michigan State, Purdue, Maryland, Iowa, Wisconsin

Big East (5): VILLANOVA, Xavier, Seton Hall, Providence, Butler

SEC (4): KENTUCKY, Texas AM, South Carolina, Vanderbilt

Atlantic 10 (4): DAYTON, Saint Joseph’s, St. Bonaventure, VCU

American (3): TEMPLE, Cincinnati, Connecticut

Missouri Valley (2): NORTHERN IOWA, Wichita State

MAAC (2): IONA, Monmouth

West Coast (1): GONZAGA

Mountain West (1): SAN DIEGO STATE

ONE BID LEAGUES: Iona (MAAC), UAB (C-USA), Ark-Little Rock (SBELT), Yale (IVY), Weber State (BSKY), Green Bay (HORIZON), Stephen F. Austin (SLND), Chattanooga (STHN), Hawaii (BWEST), Akron (MAC), Florida Gulf Coast (ASUN), Austin Peay (OVC), UNC-Wilmington (CAA), UNC-Asheville (BSO), Hampton (MEAC), South Dakota State (SUM), New Mexico State (WAC), Stony Brook (AEAST), Holy Cross (PAT), Fairleigh-Dickinson (NEC), Texas-Southern (SWAC)