Mississippi State, Wake Forest in 2016 Charleston Classic

AP Photo

CHARLESTON, S.C. (AP) Mississippi State and Wake Forest will take part in next year’s Charleston Classic.

The eight-team field for 2016 was announced Thursday, a short time before Mississippi and George Mason opened this year’s event.

Along with the Bulldogs and the Demon Deacons, others participating are Villanova, Boise State, UCF, UTEP, Western Michigan and host school College of Charleston.

The Bulldogs compete in the Southeastern Conference while the Demon Deacons are part of the Atlantic Coast Conference.

The tournament is played at TD Arena, the home building of the College of Charleston. The last time the Cougars took part in the event was 2012.