Maryland’s non-conference schedule features two elite matchups

2 Comments

Maryland released their non-conference schedule on Tuesday afternoon and while it’s not overloaded with marquee non-conference matchups, there are two games on the schedule that should make every college basketball fan happy.

On Nov. 17th, the Terps will square off with Georgetown in College Park as part of the Gavitt Games, the new conference challenge between the Big East and the Big Ten. Despite having campuses that are roughly 10 miles from each other, those two programs haven’t scheduled each other for three decades (there’s a story there). There will be a lot of bragging rights on the line in the DMV, an area that’s consistently had quite a bit of high major basketball talent.

Then, on Dec. 1st, the Terps will pay a visit to Chapel Hill to take on North Carolina in a battle between two of the three teams considered to be favorites to be ranked preseason No. 1. That game will be a part of the ACC/Big Ten Challenge.

Beyond that, Maryland has a schedule that’s mostly filled with unexciting games outside of a date with UConn in the Jimmy V Classic. It’s somewhat concerning, considering that the Terps are so highly ranked right now and two of their three notable non-conference matchups were scheduled by the Big Ten decision makers. But the games are on the schedule nonetheless.

Anywhere, here is the full schedule:

Fri., Nov. 6: Southern New Hampshire (Exhibition)
Fri., Nov. 13: Mount Saint Mary’s
Tue., Nov. 17: Georgetown (Gavitt Games)
Fri., Nov. 20: Rider
Tue., Nov. 24: vs. Illinois State (Cancun Classic)
Wed., Nov. 25: vs. Rhode Island/TCU (Cancun Classic)
Sat., Nov. 28: Cleveland State
Tue., Dec. 1: at North Carolina (Big Ten/ACC Challenge)
Fri., Dec. 4: St. Francis (PA)
Tue., Dec. 8: vs. UConn (Jimmy V Classic at Madison Square Garden)
Sat., Dec. 12: Maryland-Eastern Shore
Sat., Dec. 19: Princeton (Baltimore)
Sun., Dec. 27: Marshall