Four men’s teams banned from 2016 postseason due to APR scores


The NCAA released their APR report on Wednesday afternoon, and there will be five college basketball teams that are ineligible for the postseason in 2016.

Alcorn State, Florida A&M, Stetson and Central Arkansas are the four men’s teams that will be sitting out next year’s postseason, while on the women’s side, Savannah State will be ineligible for the postseason.

This is the second straight season that both Florida A&M and Central Arkansas have been banned from the postseason, as there were eight teams in total that missed out on the chance to play in their league tournaments in 2014-15: Alabama State, Appalachian State, Houston Baptist, Lamar, San Jose State, and Milwaukee in addition to FAMU and UCA.

Overall, the men’s basketball APR score was 961, up four points from a year ago.

“More college athletes than ever are succeeding in the classroom, and I applaud their commitment to academic achievement. We are pleased and proud of their accomplishments,” NCAA president Mark Emmert said. “Our goal always has been to encourage students to achieve academically and earn their degrees. Every year, Division I students prove that both academic and athletic success are achievable.”