The Wooden Award is down to 15 finalists

1 Comment
source: Getty Images
Getty Images

Wisconsin senior center Frank Kaminsky and Duke freshman center Jahlil Okafor headline a group of 15 finalists for The Wooden Award. The finalists were announced on Saturday during College Gameday.

Here are the 15 finalists for college basketball’s biggest individual honor:

Ron Baker, Wichita State
Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia
Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky
Rakeem Christmas, Syracuse
Jerian Grant, Notre Dame
Tyler Haws, BYU
Buddy Hield, Oklahoma
Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin
Georges Niang, Iowa State
Jahlil Okafor, Duke
Bobby Portis, Arkansas
D’Angelo Russell, Ohio State
Seth Tuttle, Northern Iowa
Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga
Delon Wright, Utah

While the Wooden Award released a top 20 list in February, there are some notable changes to this finalist list. Malcolm Brogdon was added to the list and presumably replaced Virginia teammate Justin Anderson while Northern Iowa senior forward Seth Tuttle was also new among the 15 finalists.

Not making the cut from the previous list is Anderson, Louisville’s Montrezl Harrell, Arizona’s Stanley Johnson, Duke’s Tyus Jones, Stanford’s Chasson Randle, Louisville’s Terry Rozier and West Virginia’s Juwan Staten.

The Wooden Award list will be whittled down to five finalists on March 30 before the award is announced on April 10 during a televised awards show.

It’s interesting to note that three players in Rob Dauster’s College Basketball Talk Player of the Year Power Rankings this week didn’t make the list for the Wooden Award.