Marcus Foster’s three-pointer gives Kansas State controversial win over No. 17 Oklahoma (VIDEO)

4 Comments

The officials ruled that the ball left Edwards’ hand before the shot clock expired, but that does not appear to have been the case upon closer inspection. Also of note is the fact that the LED lights around the shot clock are on. Per NCAA rules, schools can use such a setup to indicate the expiration of the shot clock.

Here’s a still picture of Edwards attempting the shot, thanks to CBT’s Rob Dauster.

source:
Rob Dauster

Per the NCAA rule book, when it comes to a shot clock violation there can only be an official review in the final two minutes of the second half and at any point in overtime. At any other point in the game, an official review regarding the shot clock can only take place if there’s a malfunction or mistake in starting, stopping or setting/resetting the shot clock:

Determine whether the shot clock malfunctioned or a timing mistake occurred in failing to properly start, stop, set or reset the shot clock. The malfunction or mistake may only be corrected in the shot clock period in which it occurred. Any activity after the mistake or malfunction has been committed and until it has been rectified shall be canceled, excluding a flagrant 1 or 2 personal foul or any technical foul.

Unfortunately for Oklahoma, the rules prohibited the game officials from taking another look at what is viewed to be a judgment call.

Videos courtesy of ESPN