Midseason Wooden Award Watch List released


The Wooden Award Midseason watch list was released on Wednesday afternoon, comprising the 25 players that will most likely be most deserving of winning the award come season’s end.

There are no glaring omissions, particularly when you consider the fact that Duke center Jahlil Okafor is the heavy favorite to win the award at this point in the season. There are a few names that probably could have been put on here, most notably Providence forward LaDontae Henton, Syracuse center Rakeem Christmas and VCU guard Treveon Graham.

Anyway, here is the Top 25 in alphabetical order:

Justin Anderson, Virginia, Jr.
Ron Baker, Wichita State, Jr.
Ryan Boatright, UConn, Sr.
Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky, Jr.
Yogi Ferrell, Indiana, Jr.
Jerian Grant, Notre Dame, Sr.
Montrezl Harrell, Louisville, Jr.
D’Angelo Harrison, St. John’s, Sr.
Tyler Haws, BYU, Sr.
Buddy Hield, Oklahoma, Jr.
Stanley Johnson, Arizona, Fr.
Tyus Jones, Duke, Fr.
Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin, Sr.
Jordan Mickey, LSU, So.
Georges Niang, Iowa State, Jr.
Jahlil Okafor, Duke, Fr.
Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga, Sr.
Bobby Portis, Arkansas, So.
Chasson Randle, Stanford, Sr.
Terry Rozier, Louisville, So.
D’Angelo Russell, Ohio State, Fr.
Juwan Staten, West Virginia, Sr.
Melo Trimble, Maryland, Fr.
Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga, Jr.
Delon Wright, Utah, Sr.