2016 Maui Invitational field announced


The field for the 2016 installment of the Maui Invitational was announced on Monday afternoon.

One program from each of college basketball’s seven biggest conferences will be represented, including two of 2014’s Final Four teams.

Connecticut, Georgetown, North Carolina, Oklahoma State, Oregon, Tennessee and Wisconsin will all take part. Chaminade, the Division II program in Hawaii, will once again be hosting the event.

It’s tough to predict where some of these programs will be that far down the road. North Carolina is North Carolina, and barring the NCAA going all SMU on the program, they’ll be one of the best teams in the country. Gerogetown is underrated this season and has had a couple of good recruiting classes back-to-back, and it’s foolish to think that either Wisconsin or UConn will fall off that much in the next two seasons.

Oregon, however, will be in major rebuilding mode over the next two years. Tennessee will be as well, and that’s before you consider the potential NCAA violations committed by Donnie Tyndall. Oklahoma State should be good, but it seems like we’re always saying that.

Regardless, this has the makings of being the best tournament that November.