Malik Newman, Jaylen Brown among 53 invited to US Junior National Team minicamp


Tuesday morning USA Basketball released the list of 53 players who have been invited to attend Junior National Team minicamp, which takes place October 4-5 in Colorado Springs, Colorado. Among the 53 players are 16 Class of 2015 prospects, including five-star prospects Jaylen Brown, Isaiah Briscoe and Malik Newman. Five players on the list were members of the U17 team that won the FIBA U17 World Championships this summer, with eight playing for the team that won the FIBA Americas U18 title.

“I look forward to working with a new group of players in October,” USA Basketball Developmental national team head coach Don Showalter said in the release. “We have expanded the group to include players eligible for three different age groups, and within that mix we have some players who already have USA Basketball experience and who have won gold medals as well as a lot of players who are new to USA Basketball.”

The Class of 2018 has the highest number of players invited to the camp (20), with there also being 17 Class of 2017 prospects who received invitations. The camp will help USA Basketball begin the process of filling rosters for two 2015 international events, the Nike Hoop Summit and the FIBA Americas U16 Championships. Other events to be taken into consideration are the 2016 FIBA U17 World Championships and the 2016 FIBA Americas U18 Championships.

Below is the full list of players who have been invited to participate in the camp.

  • Chase Adams (Marian Central Catholic H.S. (2018)/Park Forest, IL)
  • Marvin Bagley, III (Corona del Sol H.S. (2018)/Tempe, Ariz.)
  • Michael Barber (The Veritas School (2018)/Jackson, Miss.)
  • Brian Bowen (Arthur Hill H.S. (2017)/Saginaw, Mich.)
  • Isaiah Briscoe (Roselle Catholic H.S. (2015)/Union, N.J.)
  • Jaylen Brown (Wheeler H.S. (2015)/Alpharetta, Ga.)
  • Jordan Brown (Wood Creek H.S. (2018)/Roseville, Calif.)
  • Marquis Brown (Simeon Career Academy (2018)/Chicago, Ill.)
  • Troy Brown Jr. (Centennial H.S. (2017)/Las Vegas, Nev.)
  • Jalen Brunson (Adlai E. Stevenson H.S. (2015)/Lincolnshire, Ill.) – Villanova commit
  • Harrison Butler (Mater Dei Catholic H.S. (2018)/Huntington Beach, Calif.)
  • Wendell Carter Jr. (Pace Academy (2017)/Fairburn, Ga.)
  • Matthew Coleman (M.F. Maury H.S. (2017)/Norfolk, Va.)
  • Trevon Duval (St. Benedict’s Prep (2017)/New Castle, Del.)
  • Nojel Eastern (Evanston Township H.S. (2017)/Evanston, Ill.)
  • Henry Ellenson (Rice Lake H.S. (2015)/Rice Lake, Wis.)
  • Jalek Felton (Mullins H.S. (2017)/Mullins, S.C.)
  • Darius Garland (Brentwood Academy (2018)/ Nashville, Tenn.)
  • Chris Giles (Plano West Senior H.S. (2017)/Plano, Texas)
  • Carte’Are Gordon (St. John Vianney H.S. (2018)/St. Louis, Mo.)
  • Jaylen Hands (Mater Dei Catholic H.S. (2017)/Chula Vista, Calif.)
  • D.J. Harvey (DeMatha Catholic H.S. (2017)/Bowie, Md.)
  • Markus Howard (Perry H.S. (2017)/Chandler, Ariz.) – Arizona State commit
  • Chase Jeter (Bishop Gorman H.S. (2015)/Las Vegas, Nev.) – Duke commit
  • Brandon Johns (East Lansing H.S. (2018)/Lansing, Mich.)
  • Luke Kennard (Franklin H.S. (2015)/Franklin, Ohio) – Duke commit
  • Joshua LeBlanc (Madison Preparatory Academy (2018)/Baton Rouge, La.)
  • Ira Lee (Sierra Canyon School (2017)/San Pedro, Calif.)
  • James Lewis (Flat Rock H.S. (2018)/Atlanta, Ga.)
  • Tyler Lydon (New Hampton School (2015)/Pine Plains, N.Y.) – Syracuse commit
  • Charles Matthews (Saint Rita H.S. (2015)/Chicago, Ill.) – Kentucky commit
  • EJ Montgomery Jr. (Montverde Academy (2018)/Port Saint Lucie, Fla.)
  • Malik Newman (Callaway H.S. (2015)/Jackson, Miss.)
  • Reginald Perry (Maclay School (2018)/Tallahassee, FL)
  • Michael Porter Jr.(Father Tolton Catholic H.S. (2017)/Columbia, MO)
  • Cameron Reddish (The Haverford School (2018)/Norristown, Pa.)
  • Ivan Rabb (Bishop O’Dowd H.S. (2015)/Oakland, Calif.)
  • Nazreon Reid (Roselle Catholic H.S. (2018)/Asbury Park, N.J.)
  • David Sloan (Taylor County H.S. (2017)/Campbellsville, Ky.)
  • Javonte Smart (Scottlandville H.S. (2018)/Baton Rouge, La.)
  • Cassius Stanley (Sierra Canyon H.S. (2018)/Encino, Calif.)
  • Diamond Stone (Dominican H.S. (2015)/Milwaukee, Wis.)
  • Caleb Swanigan (Homestead Senior H.S. (2015)/Fort Wayne, Ind.)
  • Allonzo Trier (Findlay Prep/Tulsa, Okla.) – Arizona commit
  • Jarred Vanderbilt (Victory Prep (2017)/Houston, Texas)
  • Connor Vanover (Arkansas Baptist H.S. (2018)/Little Rock, Ark.)
  • Paul Washington (Lone Star H.S. (2017)/Frisco, Texas)
  • Jimmy Whitt (Columbia-Hickman H.S. (2015)/ Columbia, Mo.) – Arkansas commit
  • Austin Wiley (Spain Park H.S. (2017)/Hoover, Ala.)
  • DJ  Williams (Simeon Career Academy (2015)/ Chicago, Ill.) – Illinois commit
  • DeShang Williams-Weaver (Cy Falls H.S. (2018)/Houston, Texas)
  • Robert Woodard (Columbus H.S. (2018)/Columbus, Miss.)
  • Stephen Zimmerman (Bishop Gorman H.S. (2015)/Las Vegas, Nev.)