Doug McDermott, Gregg Marshall win AP Player, Coach of the Year awards


Arlington, Texas — Doug McDermott collected the first of what is sure to be numerous Player of the Year awards on Thursday when it was announced that the AP had named him the nation’s best player.

“This is a huge honor,” McDermott said. “I would like to thank the AP for this award. There are so many great college basketball players this year and to be selected for this award is a huge honor.”

McDermott led the nation by averaging 26.9 points for Creighton, but he season and career came to a close when Creighton got bounced in the Round of 32 by Baylor.

McDermott’s old Missouri Valley foe was named National Coach of the Year, as Wichita State head coach Gregg Marshall was rightfully honored for leading his team into the NCAA tournament with an undefeated record.

“On behalf of our team and the young men that we coached, this year was a tremendous group of young people which made our season all the more special,” Marshall said.