Doug McDermott, Russ Smith among Naismith semifinalists

1 Comment

One day after the USBWA announced its fifteen finalists for the Oscar Robertson Award the Atlanta Tipoff Club released its list of ten semifinalists for the Naismith Award. Among the ten players on the list are seniors Doug McDermott (Creighton) and Russ Smith (Louisville), along with highly regarded freshmen such as Tyler Ennis (Syracuse), Jabari Parker (Duke) and Andrew Wiggins (Kansas).

Here’s the full list of semifinalists for the award, with the Naismith Award voting academy selecting four finalists that will be revealed on March 23:

  • G Tyler Ennis (Syracuse)
  • G Nick Johnson (Arizona)
  • G Sean Kilpatrick (Cincinnati)
  • F Doug McDermott (Creighton)
  • G Shabazz Napier (UConn)
  • F Jabari Parker (Duke)
  • F Julius Randle (Kentucky)
  • G Russ Smith (Louisville)
  • G Fred Van Vleet (Wichita State)
  • F Andrew Wiggins (Kansas)

Seven conferences are represented on the list, with the American Athletic (three semifinalists) and ACC (two) leading the way in regards to the number of players selected. The senior and freshman classes can each claim four players among the ten, with Johnson (junior) and Van Vleet (sophomore) being the exceptions.