DeAndre Kane now officially eligible at Transfer U, Iowa State


On Wednesday afternoon, Ryan Harrow and Malik Smith both received waivers to play immediately at Georgia State and Minnesota, respectively.

Harrow was cleared because the Atlanta native’s father is sick. Smith was declared immediately eligible because Florida International is banned from the NCAA tournament this season due to APR issues and he only has one season of eligibility left.

A third transfer also got official word that he would be eligible to play immediately on Wednesday, as Iowa State’s DeAndre Kane received his degree from Marshall, making him eligible under the graduate transfer. Kane nearly committed to Pitt, his hometown program, after getting dismissed by Marshall coach Tom Herrion, but backed off during his visit to the campus. Memphis also made a strong push for the 6-foot-4 guard.

All three players will be important pieces for their new teams. Harrow was once a top 40 recruit and is talented enough that he should thrive without the pressure of Big Blue Nation bearing down on him. Smith is a talented scorer and three-pointer shooter that has spent a year in Richard Pitino’s uptempo, full-court system. And Kane is the kind of play-maker that will allow Hoiberg to once again spread the floor and play one of the nation’s most entertaining styles.

Kane averaged at least 15 points in each of his three seasons with the Thundering Herd, including 15.1 points and 7.0 assists that he posted last season. Georges Niang and Melvin Ejim are returning this year, but the Cyclones lost their top four guards from a season ago, highlighting the importance of landing Kane.

Iowa State has become Transfer U. under Hoiberg. Korie Lucious (Michigan State), Chris Babb (Penn State), Royce White (Minnesota), Chris Allen (Michigan State) and Will Clyburn (Utah) all transferred into the program. Abdel Nader (Northern Illinois) joined this April and will be eligible in 2014-2015. Tyrus McGee was a JuCo transfer, as is four of the six newcomers that Hoiberg will welcome this season.

You can find Rob on twitter @RobDauster.