Auburn, Murray State added as participants in Charleston Classic, field finalized


The field for the 2012 Charleston Classic has been finalized, with Murray State and Auburn added Wednesday to round out the group of eight.

Along with those two schools, Baylor, Boston College, Charleston, Colorado, St. John’s, and Dayton will travel to TD Arena in Charleston, S.C. to take part in the tournament November 15, 16, and 18.

Murray State is coming off one of the best seasons in its program’s history, led by guard Isaiah Canaan, who will return for his senior season in 2012-13.

Last year, Canaan averaged 19.2 points and 3.7 assists per game and helping the Racers to a 31-2 record and berth in the NCAA tournament.

Baylor will have a roster that looks significantly different than the team that advanced to the Elite Eight this past season.

Forwards Perry Jones III and Quincy Miller have departed for the NBA draft, while hard-nosed center Quincy Acy has graduated. The Bears are bringing in a five-man recruiting class, led by five-star center Isaiah Austin and forward Ricardo Gathers.

St. John’s rounded out its second straight strong recruiting class under head coach Steve Lavin, grabbing a commitment from forward Chris Obekpa, who is considered one of the best shot-blockers in the Class of 2012.

Northwestern won the 2011 Charleston Classic, defeating Seton Hall, 80-73, in the championship game.

Daniel Martin is a writer and editor at, covering St. John’s. You can find him on Twitter:@DanielJMartin_