C-USA reportedly adding six schools starting in 2013


Ah, more conference realignment. It wouldn’t be the college hoops offseason without it.

Conference USA – constantly evolving and shifting – will add six schools starting in 2013, according to a report by Brett McMurphy of CBSSports.com. The league loses four schools to the Big East for next season (Houston, SMU, UCF and Memphis), but counters by adding Florida International, Louisiana Tech, North Texas, Texas-San Antonio, Charlotte and Old Dominion.

An official announcement could come Friday.

It will be far from a seamless transition, though. Charlotte is starting a football program in 2013. ODU currently competes in the FCS. Both would conceivably play football as league members at some point.

If all six are added, that would make C-USA a 14-team conference that would split into two divisions once Charlotte and ODU transition.

Also confusing matters is that C-USA and the Mountain West continue to try and work with each other. The two abandoned plans to merge last month, but they would like to share scheduling, TV and marketing resources.

This news comes on the heels of the WAC’s likely demise, and the CAA reportedly being raided by the A-10 for VCU and George Mason and with the Atlantic SunSun Belt taking Georgia State.

You also can follow me on Twitter @MikeMillerNBC.