CBT’s SEC postseason awards


Player of the Year: Anthony Davis, Kentucky

Do I really need to elaborate? He’s a dominant defensive force all season long and is slowly but surely showing that he has a face up game and the ability to step out and be a threat on the perimeter. He’s the only player that can give Thomas Robinson a run for National Player of the Year.

Coach of the Year: Cuonzo Martin, Tennessee

Again, there really isn’t much of an argument to be had here. Martin took over a program that was, more or less, left for dead after Bruce Pearl was fired and Scotty Hopson and Tobias Harris went pro. But Martin has gotten the Vols to play a physical, gritty brand of basketball and added big man Jarnell Stokes at the right time. And now? They are the No. 2 seed in the SEC Tournament.

Rookie of the Year: Anthony Davis, Kentucky

I mean, obviously. There were some good freshmen in this conference, however. I guess this is where I should give Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, Brad Beal, and BJ Young.

Sixth-Man of the Year: BJ Young, Arkansas

Giving Young this award may be a bit controversial. He started seven of his team’s 31 games. But he also came off the bench for 24 of them and still managed to lead the Razorbacks in scoring (15.3 ppg) by a wide margin. Oh, and he’s only a freshman, meaning that Young still has a lot of improving to do. You’ve been warned, SEC.

Defensive Player of the Year: Anthony Davis, Kentucky

Yup. Again.

All-SEC First Team

POY: Anthony Davis, Fr., Kentucky
G: Erving Walker, Sr., Florida
G: John Jenkins, Jr., Vanderbilt
F: Jeff Taylor, Sr., Vanderbilt
F: Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, Fr., Kentucky
C: Arnett Moultrie, Jr., Mississippi State

All-SEC Second Team

G: Dee Bost, Sr., Mississippi State
G: Kenny Boynton, Jr., Florida
F: Brad Beal, Fr., Florida
F: JaMychal Green, Sr., Alabama
C: Justin Hamilton, Jr., LSU

Rob Dauster is the editor of the college basketball website Ballin’ is a Habit. You can find him on twitter @robdauster.