Here’s some fuel for Kentucky fans’ conspiracy theories.
When Larry Brown visited Villanova’s practice on Jan. 20, it turned into a lighthearted, fun story about Brown getting his “basketball fix.” He also joined the team for breakfast and chatted up the players and assistant coaches.
He did the same thing at Kentucky last week, offering advice on drills, talking to players and spending some time with coach John Calipari.
The difference? Now there’s a Lexington Herald-Leader story wondering if Brown’s appearance at Kentucky could be an NCAA rules violation.
And people wonder why Big Blue Nation frets about media attention.
Here’s the NCAA rule:
NCAA bylaw 22.214.171.124.1.4, which pertains to outside consultants, says that such people can “provide in-service training for the coaching staff, but no interaction with student athletes is permitted unless the individual is counted against the applicable coaching limits. An outside consultant may not be involved in any on- or off-field or on- or off-court coaching activities (e.g., attending practices and meetings involving coaching activities, formulating game plans, analyzing video involving the institution’s or opponent’s team) without counting the consultant in the coaching limitations in that sport.
It’s not the Herald-Leader erred in asking the question. If Brown attending practice is against the rules, then UK made a mistake (and a small one at that).
But considering nobody gave it a second thought with Villanova, it’s not hard to see why some think there’s a Kentucky vendetta.
Want more? I’m also on Twitter @MikeMillerNBC.