Oscar Robertson Award

Frank Kaminsky

Wisconsin’s Frank Kaminsky wins Oscar Robertson, AP Player of the Year awards


Wisconsin senior forward Frank Kaminsky picked up a major award Friday morning, as he was named winner of the Oscar Robertson Trophy by the United States Basketball Writers Association. The award is given to the winner of the association’s national Player of the Year vote, and Kaminsky was also named Player of the Year by the Associated Press.

The 6-foot-11 Kaminsky, who was named Big Ten Player of the Year last month, has helped lead the Badgers to their second consecutive Final Four appearance and the Big Ten regular season and tournament titles. Kaminksy leads the Badgers in a number of categories, including scoring (18.7 ppg), rebounding (8.0 rpg), assists, field goal and three-point percentage.

“This is obviously a great award and I am honored to receive it,” Kaminsky said. “I have to thank my family, who have really helped me grow as a person and grow as a basketball player. I’m just so honored to receive this award.”

Also at the ceremony in Indianapolis were the trophy’s namesake, Wisconsin head coach Bo Ryan and all of Frank’s teammates. Nigel Hayes and Sam Dekker also managed to get involved in the question and answer session after Kaminsky was given the trophy.

2015 Oscar Robertson Trophy midseason watch list includes 17 players

Getty Images
Leave a comment
Getty Images

On Friday, the United States Basketball Writers Association announced the 17 names on the Oscar Robertson Trophy midseason watch list.

Here is the complete list:

  • Justin Anderson, Virginia
  • Ron Baker, Wichita State
  • Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky
  • Sam Dekker, Wisconsin,
  • Anthony Gill, Virginia
  • Jerian Grant, Notre Dame
  • Montrezl Harrell, Louisville
  • Stanley Johnson, Arizona
  • Frank Kaminksy, Wisconsin
  • Georges Niang, Iowa State
  • Jahlil Okafor, Duke
  • Marcus Paige, North Carolina
  • Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga
  • Bobby Portis, Arkansas
  • Melo Trimble, Maryland
  • Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga
  • Delon Wright, Utah

The Wooden Award midseason watch list was unveiled on Jan. 14. That list was comprised of 25 nominees. Dekker, Gill and Paige were not listed on the Wooden Award watch list. Ryan Boatright, Yogi Ferrell, D’Angelo Harrison, Tyler Haws, Buddy Hield, Tyus Jones, Jordan Mickey, Chason Randle, Terry Rozier, D’Angelo Russell and Juwan State appeared on that list, but not on the Roberston watch list.

Last season Creighton forward Doug McDermott won the award.

Creighton’s Doug McDermott wins USBWA Player of the Year award

Leave a comment

With more than 3,000 points and player of the year awards in two different conferences (Missouri Valley and Big East) during his career, Creighton’s Doug McDermott will go down as one of the all-time greats. As for this season the forward has managed to collect multiple national Player of the Year honors, with the most recent being the Oscar Robertson Award that’s presented by the United States Basketball Writers Association.

The USBWA made the news official in a press conference Friday morning at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas, site of the Final Four. McDermott is just the third winner of the USBWA’s top individual honor from a Big East school, with St. John’s Chris Mullin (1985) and Walter Berry (1986) being the other two.

McDermott, who finished his college career with 3,150 points, averaged 26.7 points and 7.0 rebounds per game this season. And he was efficient in doing so, shooting 52.6% from the field, 44.9% from beyond the arc and 86.4% from the foul line. In total, ten different outlets, including the Associated Press, have named McDermott national Player of the Year with the Naismith Award winner still yet to be announced.