Legends Classic - UCLA v Georgia

UCLA transfer Joshua Smith eligible to play immediately at Georgetown

Leave a comment

With the start of the regular season inching closer the Georgetown Hoyas had a significant question that needed answering: when would UCLA transfer Joshua Smith be eligible to play in games? Smith transferred to the Big East school in January after playing six games for the Bruins last season, and it was unknown how long he’d have to sit out.

Wednesday evening the school announced that Smith has been cleared by the NCAA to play immediately, giving Georgetown some additional interior depth for the upcoming season. He’ll have four semesters (two years) of eligibility remaining.

“We are excited that the NCAA has approved the waiver for Joshua,” Georgetown head coach John Thompson III said in the release. “Now, he has to maintain a high level of commitment on and off the court. He will provide a significant low-post presence for this team.”

In two-plus seasons as a Bruin Smith, who was a McDonald’s All-American coming out of high school, posted averages of 9.9 points and 5.5 rebounds per game. But due to weight (and the subsequent stamina) issues the Kent, Wash. native played an average of just 19 minutes per contest.

In a a story written by Andy Katz of ESPN.com back in August it was reported that Smith had lost around 40 pounds since arriving at Georgetown, down to 310 pounds after playing at 350 while at UCLA. If he’s continued on that path of eating properly and working hard in the weight room, Smith has the talent needed to be a valuable piece for the Hoyas as the look to win the Big East.

But that was something said throughout Smith’s time in Westwood, with the changes necessary for him to be the best player possible never taking place. It’s all a matter of commitment for Smith, and if it remains present both he and Georgetown stand to benefit.

POSTERIZED: Pensacola State’s Jamal Thomas dunks through block attempt, makes coach go nuts

Leave a comment

A solid poster dunk went down in the junior college ranks last night as Pensacola State sophomore Jamal Thomas finished a dunk through a block attempt against Northwest Florida State.

The 6-foot-3 Thomas used his power and momentum to go through the opposing shot blocker and the play made his head coach, Pete Pena, go nuts with an over-exaggerated fist pump. The video is short, but be sure to watch for Pena’s reaction near the logo at the top right of the screen.

VIDEO: Boise State robbed of insane, buzzer-beating win on incorrect timing by officials

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 1.07.34 AM
Leave a comment

It looked like James Webb III of Boise State had hit the season’s craziest buzzer-beater.

With 0.8 seconds left, he caught an in-bounds pass on the run on the right wing, hoisted up a prayer of a three and watched as it banked it as the buzzer sounded.

It’s pretty fantastic:

And it also clearly left his hands before time expired, but there was a reason for that. According to the officials, the clock (for the road team, mind you) did not start when the ball was caught.

They were right.

Where they were wrong was determining that it took more than a second for Webb to catch and release the shot, meaning that they were wrong to waive off the bucket.

This awesome slo-mo clip of the shot from Matt Stephens of the Coloradoan is all the evidence I need, but if you need more, Sportscenter anchor Scott Van Pelt clocked it at 0.7 seconds:

The game would go to overtime, where Colorado State would go on to win, 97-93.

As you can imagine, Boise State players and coaches were livid with the call.

“I hope it’s not a situation where you get an apology later but don’t get the win. I don’t understand it,” head coach Leon Rice said in a radio interview after the game. “I hope they got it right somehow, some way. I don’t know. It didn’t look right to me, but I’m not the official.”

This comes just four days after officials blew a call in a game between New Mexico and San Diego State that allowed the Aztecs to force overtime and eventually beat the Lobos. (That call may have determined the outcome of the Mountain West regular season title, to boot.)

New Mexico was essentially told, “my bad”, but the league as a result.

And Boise State will probably get the same treatment despite the fact that, if the league determines that the referees botched this call as well, the tame technically was over then.

Will they have the guts to award the Broncos a road win that they earned and deserve?

I doubt it.

UPDATE: Here’s a statement from the officiating crew: