Varez Ward

Former Auburn guard Varez Ward may avoid going to trial in point-shaving case

Leave a comment

Just over four months after being indicted on charges of bribery and conspiracy in connection with a point-shaving scandal, it looks as if there’s a chance that former Auburn guard Varez Ward could avoid being tried. According to the Associated Press, Ward’s attorneys have requested that Ward be entered into a pre-trial diversion program and the U.S. attorney’s office in Montgomery is recommending that this route be taken.

Whether or not Ward actually avoids trial will be determined by the United States Probation Office and a federal judge, but this should be seen as a positive development for Ward.

[Federal prosecutor Clark] Morris said the program usually involves a fine and community service under the supervision of a probation officer. The charges are dismissed, but the defendant can be charged again if he doesn’t complete the program, she said.

The game in question was a 56-53 loss to Arkansas on January 19, 2012, in which Ward came off the bench but fell to the ground 19 seconds later due to an apparent leg injury. Just over a month later Ward, who began his collegiate career at Texas, was suspended for the remainder of the season and ultimately did not play another game for the Tigers.

This is the second point-shaving case in college basketball that has gone to court this offseason, with former San Diego guard Brandon Johnson being sentenced to six months in prison back in March. Johnson, who is USD’s all-time leader in points and assists, participated in a point-shaving operation during the 2009-10 season. In total five men, including a former assistant coach at San Diego, were convicted in that case.

POSTERIZED: Pensacola State’s Jamal Thomas dunks through block attempt, makes coach go nuts

Leave a comment

A solid poster dunk went down in the junior college ranks last night as Pensacola State sophomore Jamal Thomas finished a dunk through a block attempt against Northwest Florida State.

The 6-foot-3 Thomas used his power and momentum to go through the opposing shot blocker and the play made his head coach, Pete Pena, go nuts with an over-exaggerated fist pump. The video is short, but be sure to watch for Pena’s reaction near the logo at the top right of the screen.

VIDEO: Boise State robbed of insane, buzzer-beating win on incorrect timing by officials

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 1.07.34 AM
Leave a comment

It looked like James Webb III of Boise State had hit the season’s craziest buzzer-beater.

With 0.8 seconds left, he caught an in-bounds pass on the run on the right wing, hoisted up a prayer of a three and watched as it banked it as the buzzer sounded.

It’s pretty fantastic:

And it also clearly left his hands before time expired, but there was a reason for that. According to the officials, the clock (for the road team, mind you) did not start when the ball was caught.

They were right.

Where they were wrong was determining that it took more than a second for Webb to catch and release the shot, meaning that they were wrong to waive off the bucket.

This awesome slo-mo clip of the shot from Matt Stephens of the Coloradoan is all the evidence I need, but if you need more, Sportscenter anchor Scott Van Pelt clocked it at 0.7 seconds:

The game would go to overtime, where Colorado State would go on to win, 97-93.

As you can imagine, Boise State players and coaches were livid with the call.

“I hope it’s not a situation where you get an apology later but don’t get the win. I don’t understand it,” head coach Leon Rice said in a radio interview after the game. “I hope they got it right somehow, some way. I don’t know. It didn’t look right to me, but I’m not the official.”

This comes just four days after officials blew a call in a game between New Mexico and San Diego State that allowed the Aztecs to force overtime and eventually beat the Lobos. (That call may have determined the outcome of the Mountain West regular season title, to boot.)

New Mexico was essentially told, “my bad”, but the league as a result.

And Boise State will probably get the same treatment despite the fact that, if the league determines that the referees botched this call as well, the tame technically was over then.

Will they have the guts to award the Broncos a road win that they earned and deserve?

I doubt it.

UPDATE: Here’s a statement from the officiating crew: