Andrew Wiggins

What does the summer hold for Andrew Wiggins?

1 Comment
Now that Andrew Wiggins has signed his letter of intent to Kansas, the daily questions surrounding his future have briefly taken a hiatus.

But what does the summer hold for the consensus No. 1 incoming freshman? That answer remains unclear, as Wiggins will have an opportunity to play for one or two Canadian national teams this summer.

Wiggins can play for the Under 19 Canadian national team, as the U19 world championship begins in Prague in late July, while the senior national team is also scheduled to compete in a FIBA World Cup qualifying tournament in early September in Venezuela.

Kansas coach Bill Self and assistant coach Kurtis Townsend recently visited Wiggins and his family in Toronto to spend some time with their newest recruit and Self gave some insight into Wiggins’ summer plans to KUsports.com.
“They are working out all details with the national team, how much of a time commitment,” Self said. The Under 19 world championship is June 27 to July 7 in Prague. The FIBA World Cup qualifying tourney for the senior national team is Aug. 30 to Sept. 11 in Venezuela.

“In a perfect world, they’d like about nine weeks straight of commitment, something like that. He doesn’t want to do that. That makes for an awful long year when you spend your whole summer in a competitive deal. It’s what they are talking about and trying to work out.”

Self has said he’ll support whatever decision Wiggins makes in regards to his summer as long as “he’s getting better.”
While it wouldn’t be the biggest deal in the world if Wiggins wanted to take a bit of time off in his final summer before college, it would be interesting to see how he fared with the Canadian national team — specifically the senior national team.

Wiggins will be the future of Canadian basketball and coupled with recent NBA players like Tristan Thompson and Cory Joseph from north of the border, it could make for an interesting international basketball rivalry in the future.

POSTERIZED: Pensacola State’s Jamal Thomas dunks through block attempt, makes coach go nuts

Leave a comment

A solid poster dunk went down in the junior college ranks last night as Pensacola State sophomore Jamal Thomas finished a dunk through a block attempt against Northwest Florida State.

The 6-foot-3 Thomas used his power and momentum to go through the opposing shot blocker and the play made his head coach, Pete Pena, go nuts with an over-exaggerated fist pump. The video is short, but be sure to watch for Pena’s reaction near the logo at the top right of the screen.

VIDEO: Boise State robbed of insane, buzzer-beating win on incorrect timing by officials

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 1.07.34 AM
Leave a comment

It looked like James Webb III of Boise State had hit the season’s craziest buzzer-beater.

With 0.8 seconds left, he caught an in-bounds pass on the run on the right wing, hoisted up a prayer of a three and watched as it banked it as the buzzer sounded.

It’s pretty fantastic:

And it also clearly left his hands before time expired, but there was a reason for that. According to the officials, the clock (for the road team, mind you) did not start when the ball was caught.

They were right.

Where they were wrong was determining that it took more than a second for Webb to catch and release the shot, meaning that they were wrong to waive off the bucket.

This awesome slo-mo clip of the shot from Matt Stephens of the Coloradoan is all the evidence I need, but if you need more, Sportscenter anchor Scott Van Pelt clocked it at 0.7 seconds:

The game would go to overtime, where Colorado State would go on to win, 97-93.

As you can imagine, Boise State players and coaches were livid with the call.

“I hope it’s not a situation where you get an apology later but don’t get the win. I don’t understand it,” head coach Leon Rice said in a radio interview after the game. “I hope they got it right somehow, some way. I don’t know. It didn’t look right to me, but I’m not the official.”

This comes just four days after officials blew a call in a game between New Mexico and San Diego State that allowed the Aztecs to force overtime and eventually beat the Lobos. (That call may have determined the outcome of the Mountain West regular season title, to boot.)

New Mexico was essentially told, “my bad”, but the league as a result.

And Boise State will probably get the same treatment despite the fact that, if the league determines that the referees botched this call as well, the tame technically was over then.

Will they have the guts to award the Broncos a road win that they earned and deserve?

I doubt it.

UPDATE: Here’s a statement from the officiating crew: