Luke Hancock

Breaking down the selected teams, by conference

Leave a comment

One of the most popular measurements of conference dominance by fans and pundits alike has always been the number of teams that a league gets into the NCAA Tournament.

Two years ago, the Big East Conference got a record 11 teams into the Big Dance. This season, the Big East led the tournament again with eight, followed by a number of other power conferences and a somewhat surprising conference getting in five.

Here’s how the conference’s stacked up this season (along with the seeds in parentheses).

Big East – 8 – Louisville (1), Georgetown (2), Marquette (3), Syracuse (4), Notre Dame(7), Pittsburgh (8), Villanova (9), Cincinnati (10).

Big Ten – 7 – Indiana (1), Ohio State (2), Michigan State (3), Michigan (4), Wisconsin (5), Illinois (7), Minnesota (11).

Atlantic 10 – 5 – St. Louis (4), VCU (5), Bulter (6), Temple (9), La Salle (13)

Big 12 – 5 – Kansas (1), Kansas State (4), Oklahoma (5), Iowa State (10), Oklahoma (10)

Mountain West – 5 – New Mexico (3), Colorado State (8), UNLV (5), San Diego State (13), Boise State (11)

Pac-12 – 5 – Arizona (6), UCLA (6), Colorado (10), California (12), Oregon (12).

ACC – 4 – Miami (2), Duke (2), North Carolina (8), North Carolina State (8)

SEC – 3 – Florida (3), Missouri (9), Ole Miss (12)

Missouri Valley – 2 – Creighton (7), Wichita State (9)

Sun Belt – 2 – Middle Tennessee State (11), Western Kentucky (16)

WCC – 2 – Gonzaga (1), St. Mary’s (11)

Single-bid conferences

WAC — 1 — New Mexico State (13); SWAC – 1 – Southern (16); MEAC — 1 – North Carolina A&T (16); SoCon – 1 – Davidson (14); Big South – 1 – Liberty (16); Big West – 1 – Pacific (15); Southland – 1 – Northwestern State (14); Conference USA – 1 – Memphis (6); Northeast – 1 – LIU-Brooklyn (16); CAA – 1 – James Madison (16); MAC – 1 – Akron (12); Ohio Valley — 1 — Belmont (11); Atlantic Sun – 1 — Florida Gulf Coast (15); Ivy League – 1 – Harvard (14); MAAC – 1 – Iona (15); Patriot – 1 – Bucknell (11); Summit – 1 – South Dakota State (13); Horizon – 1 – Valparaiso (14); America East – 1 Albany (15); Big Sky — 1 — Montana (13).

Follow David Harten on Twitter at @David_Harten

SMU won’t appeal tournament ban, Brown suspension

Associated Press
Leave a comment

Last month the NCAA announced that due to rules violations found in their investigation of the SMU men’s basketball program, the team would be banned from postseason play in 2015-16 and head coach Larry Brown would be suspended for the first nine games of the 2015-16 season. With a team led by seniors Nic Moore and Markus Kennedy and just one player (Keith Frazier) being the subject of the investigation, it was assumed that SMU would at the very least appeal the postseason ban.

Friday, the school announced that while it will appeal some of the penalties handed down by the NCAA to the men’s basketball and men’s golf programs they will not appeal the postseason ban or Brown’s suspension.

“After careful consideration, however, we will not appeal the NCAA post-season ban on men’s basketball or partial season suspension of Head Men’s Basketball Coach Larry Brown,” SMU president R. Gerald Turner stated in the release. “Although we regret the severe impact on our student-athletes, the simple fact is that the NCAA penalty structure mandates at minimum a one-year post-season ban for the level of misconduct that occurred, in our case, when a former staff member completed an online high school course for a prospective student-athlete, committing academic misconduct.

“In addition, should we appeal this matter, the lengthy process and uncertainty during this period could harm many aspects of the program. Coach Brown and his staff also agree that it is in the best interests of the program to accept these sanctions and move forward.”

Among the penalties the school will appeal (with regards to the basketball program) are the “duration of scholarship losses” and how long the recruiting restrictions placed on the program will last, and the vacating of games Frazier played in during the 2013-14 season.

This a tough turn of events for players who had nothing to do with the violations, as they see their opportunity to return to the NCAA tournament taken away. As a result of the school’s decision, SMU’s season will end March 9 following their regular season finale against Cincinnati.

Kevin Marfo commits to George Washington

Leave a comment

Kevin Marfo committed to George Washington on Friday evening, announcing his decision on Twitter.

“I am grateful and appreciative to all the schools that recruited me. But I will be spending the next four years at George Washington University,” he tweeted.

This caps a successful week for Mike Lonergan on the recruiting trail. On Tuesday, GW landed a commitment from Darnell Rogers, a 5-foot-3 point guard. He is the son of former GW guard Shawnta Rogers, the 1999 Atlantic 10 Player of the Year. GW ends the week by adding a tenacious rebounder to a front court that graduates top rebounder Kevin Larsen after this season. Rogers and Marfo join power forward Collin Smith in the Class of 2016. Seton Hall transfer Jaren Sina will also be eligible in 2016-17.

He cut his list to 10 in August with Pittsburgh, Georgia Tech, Minnesota, Boston College, UMass, Saint Joseph’s, DePaul, Rhode Island and Providence all making the cut along wit the Colonials. He later trimmed the list to five finalists: BC, Providence, DePaul, GW and Rhode Island.

The Worcester Academy (Mass.) forward played for BABC this summer in the Nike EYBL, averaging 11.3 points and 8.8 rebounds per game.  The 6-foot-8 Marfo is listed as the No. 148 overall player in the Class of 2016 by Rivals.