QuincyAcy

Report: Baylor basketball teams facing possible NCAA sanctions over phone calls, texts

3 Comments

Jason King of ESPN is reporting that Baylor’s men’s and women’s basketball teams are facing possible NCAA sanctions, stemming from the results of an investigation that revealed more than 1,200 impermissible phone calls and text messages over the span of close to two and a half years.

The report from ESPN, released Monday morning, says that Baylor men’s coach Scott Drew and women’s coach Kim Mulkey, along with their assistants, were the ones who took part in the impermissible messages and calls.

The summary of findings from the NCAA, which was sent to Baylor in October, showed Drew and Mulkey, along with the institution had demonstrated a “failure to monitor” the assistants involved and the program as a whole in regards to the texts and phone calls.

Findings were not just limited to basketball, as the ESPN report points out, with impermissible calls and texts, “ranging from football to the equestrian program.”

Baylor has taken discipline into their own hands since 2008, when the probe began, with self-imposing penalties, but the committee on infractions is expected to announce next week if they deem more penalties to be necessary for the program.

Mark Morefield, a former Baylor assistant who resigned from the program in July of 2011, was found to have committed a major violation as a result of this investigation, as he, “attempted to influence two AAU coaches to furnish the NCAA with false and misleading information regarding a series of text messages,” the ESPN report states.

The report from the NCAA says that Drew, Mulkey, and the rest of the coaches involved have “acknowledged their involvement” in the violations.

The last prominent case similar to this arose in 2008, when Indiana coach Kelvin Sampson was found to be making impermissible phone calls to recruits, after already having been sited for the same violation while at Oklahoma. He then allegedly lied to the NCAA about his involvement, which deepened the problems at Indiana and ultimately led to the end of his tenure there.

To read the rest of the report from ESPN, click here.

Daniel Martin is a writer and editor at JohnnyJungle.com, covering St. John’s. You can find him on Twitter:@DanielJMartin_

[Post updated 9 April 2012, 5:26p.m.]

POSTERIZED: Pensacola State’s Jamal Thomas dunks through block attempt, makes coach go nuts

Leave a comment

A solid poster dunk went down in the junior college ranks last night as Pensacola State sophomore Jamal Thomas finished a dunk through a block attempt against Northwest Florida State.

The 6-foot-3 Thomas used his power and momentum to go through the opposing shot blocker and the play made his head coach, Pete Pena, go nuts with an over-exaggerated fist pump. The video is short, but be sure to watch for Pena’s reaction near the logo at the top right of the screen.

VIDEO: Boise State robbed of insane, buzzer-beating win on incorrect timing by officials

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 1.07.34 AM
Leave a comment

It looked like James Webb III of Boise State had hit the season’s craziest buzzer-beater.

With 0.8 seconds left, he caught an in-bounds pass on the run on the right wing, hoisted up a prayer of a three and watched as it banked it as the buzzer sounded.

It’s pretty fantastic:

And it also clearly left his hands before time expired, but there was a reason for that. According to the officials, the clock (for the road team, mind you) did not start when the ball was caught.

They were right.

Where they were wrong was determining that it took more than a second for Webb to catch and release the shot, meaning that they were wrong to waive off the bucket.

This awesome slo-mo clip of the shot from Matt Stephens of the Coloradoan is all the evidence I need, but if you need more, Sportscenter anchor Scott Van Pelt clocked it at 0.7 seconds:

The game would go to overtime, where Colorado State would go on to win, 97-93.

As you can imagine, Boise State players and coaches were livid with the call.

“I hope it’s not a situation where you get an apology later but don’t get the win. I don’t understand it,” head coach Leon Rice said in a radio interview after the game. “I hope they got it right somehow, some way. I don’t know. It didn’t look right to me, but I’m not the official.”

This comes just four days after officials blew a call in a game between New Mexico and San Diego State that allowed the Aztecs to force overtime and eventually beat the Lobos. (That call may have determined the outcome of the Mountain West regular season title, to boot.)

New Mexico was essentially told, “my bad”, but the league as a result.

And Boise State will probably get the same treatment despite the fact that, if the league determines that the referees botched this call as well, the tame technically was over then.

Will they have the guts to award the Broncos a road win that they earned and deserve?

I doubt it.

UPDATE: Here’s a statement from the officiating crew: